New Member – looking for a Myford Super 7 (I think!!)

Advert

New Member – looking for a Myford Super 7 (I think!!)

Home Forums Introduce Yourself – New members start here! New Member – looking for a Myford Super 7 (I think!!)

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    flatline
    Participant
      @flatline

Good Afternoon!!

I have just joined the forum, as I am a keen but very amateur builder/modifier of the 2-wheeled internal-combustion propelled motor vehicle… I was guided here by various ‘Google’ searches & have discovered a wealth of useful knowledge!!

For some time I have been planning to purchase a lathe… there was a lovely Schaublin 102VM for sale recently, with a wealth of accessories… but I was hesitant as to the potential costs of spares & any accessories I might need… (was I right?)…

I am now considering a Myford Super-7. There seems a wealth of knowledge & help available, and spares/accessories are generally in the much more affordable range…. I have been searching, and it seems everything is available from £250 (probably not for me) through to £3000+ for a beautifully kept machine with plenty of useful accessories.

There are some lovely machines about, I am looking at one from 1955-1958 that looks to have been in private hands but is distinctly a the upper end of the price range, I am making an educated-guess that ‘you get what you pay for’  – but are there any obvious ‘gotcha’s’ that I should look for when inspecting a machine that is (just) older than me??

Many Thanks in advance…

(p.s. based near Bristol, UK)

Advert
      ega
      Participant
        @ega

Welcome to the forum.

Have you discovered lathes.co.uk? The major differences between the Myford and Schaublin are well-documented there.

My pre-power cross feed Seven has serve me well for decades. If, however, I were buying new again as a novice I think I would just get a mini lathe.

John Haine
        Participant
          @johnhaine32865