New member from vancouver Canada

Advert

New member from vancouver Canada

Home Forums Introduce Yourself – New members start here! New member from vancouver Canada

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    kelico
    Participant
      @kelico

Hi there.

I work as a Special Effects tech/fabricator in the film industry (past 20 plus years), I was born and raised in Calgary Alberta Canada, and I’m now living in vancouver British Columbia. (15 years)

I’ve stumbled upon this club/forum in search of some parts needed for a Milling machine My grandfather built in the 70’s.

He stamped a brass tag on it that says:

“Model engineering services

6 kennet vale , brockwell chesterfield

Derbyshire S40 4EW”

the mill is really small.

The Collets have a “key” for a flat on the tang of endmills that would go in, instead of cylindrical all the way through.

Looking for some input as to where, or IF, the collets would be available anywhere..

thanks so much

Advert
      bernard towers
      Participant
        @bernardtowers37738

A photograph would help immensely ! Sounds a bit like a Dore Westbury, if you google lathes.co.uk and look it up under the tool archive you will see photos and tech details. Best of luck.

Brian Wood
        Participant
          @brianwood45127

Hello Kelico,

Welcome to the Forum.

I think your mill would be the Dore-Westbury that your grandad built from a kit of parts, either the Mk1 the Mk2 depending on kit he built from.