Moderation of this forum

Advert

Moderation of this forum

Home Forums Website Announcements Moderation of this forum

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Diane Carney
      @dianecarney30678
      Advert
      Diane Carney
        @dianecarney30678

A request has been made elsewhere to make it clear how this forum is currently moderated.

I am an administrator and a moderator. I am employed by MTM.

David Clark is a moderator and works for MTM on a freelance basis.

Stewart Hart is a volunteer moderator and is paid for (nominally) one day a week on a freelance basis.

JasonB is a volunteer moderator with no other connection to MHS or MTM.

John Stevenson is a volunteer moderator with no other connection to MHS or MTM.

Wolfie is a volunteer moderator with no other connection to MHS or MTM.

Several other employees of MHS who have an occasional requirement to post on this forum will appear as 'Moderator'. These employees are not 'magazine specific' – they work for all MTM titles or MHS.

I hope this helps.

Diane Carney
        Editor, Model Engineer

Michael Gilligan
        Participant
          @michaelgilligan61133

Thanks Diane,

That's a useful posting.

It's probably worth making "Sticky", and updating it as-and-when circumstances change.

MichaelG.

Ian P
          Participant
            @ianp

Diane

Another thing that might help (me at least) what powers the moderators actually have and how it relates to real life.

Some moderators have the ability to edit (maybe even delete) posts as DC1 at least does, in order to remove long links etc. How and why are volunteer moderators chosen and do have they have the same or more limited functions?

If all first posts are moderated does that mean that all moderators get sent a copy at the same time (so one might approve and another reject) so how does the system physically work?

Are volunteer moderators given any training, rules or guidelines as to what they can and cannot do?