Model Engineering for schools

Advert

Model Engineering for schools

Home Forums Books Model Engineering for schools

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Neildusty
    Participant
      @neildusty

I am an Engineering teacher in a secondary school and have successfully had six students build the steam engine described in Kenneth Wells book, ‘step by step metalwork 3’. I am looking for a copy of T E Haynes book, model engineering for schools book 1 ‘steam engine and boiler’. Even ebay and amazon have been unable to help me. If someone out there has one that they would be happy to copy for me I would be very grateful.

Advert
      Neildusty
      Participant
        @neildusty

Looking for a book

Robbo
        Participant
          @robbo

Lisa Smit from NZ was asking on this forum last year for one of these, don't know if she got one of course

Have a look at modelsteam.myfreeforum.org if you haven't already done so.

Phil

Sub Mandrel
          Participant
            @submandrel

Hi Neil,

Congratulations to you and your students!

If you can't find that book, look for 'Making Simple Model Steam Engines" volumes 1 & 2 by Tubal Cain.

They include several designs simple enough to make with limited equipment and time.

Neil

Roger Woollett
            Participant
              @rogerwoollett53105

I can also recommend the Tubal Cain books. At SMEE we use his Polly design from book 1 as the basis for our Polly course which has been very successful.

It introduces most of the metalwork skills a model engineer uses – using hand tools, soft and silver soldering, turning, thread cutting etc. It does not use castings so mistakes are cheap.

We diverge from the book to some extent – we prefer to use seamless copper tube for the boiler and put three bushes in the boiler (steam outlet, safety valve and filler).