Lathework for Beginners

Advert

Lathework for Beginners

Home Forums Manual machine tools Lathework for Beginners

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 108 total)
  • Author
    Neil Wyatt
      @neilwyatt

Please use this thread to ask questions of make suggestions about the series in MEW

Advert
      Neil Wyatt
        @neilwyatt

For as long as I have been Editor of MEW, I have received regular requests for more content for absolute beginners. Thanks to a sponsorship deal with Arc Euro Trade, in this issue we are able to commence a regular feature aimed at helping those with no practical experience to safely and successfully get the most out of their workshop. In MEW 260 and alternate issues, I will be giving a detailed introduction to lathework. The issues in between will carry a parallel series by Jason Ballamy on using a milling machine. Jason is known for his big prize-winning models of stationary engines, which he produces at an exceptional rate!

There will be dedicated two threads for the two series on the forum at http://www.model-engineer.co.uk where you will be welcome to ask further questions or even suggest topics or techniques you would like us to explore as the two series develop.

This thread is for questions about the Lathework for Beginners series. Please keep it on topic, this thread is for general discussion of lathe techniques and using different accessories not issues like merits of one machine versus another. Off topic comments will be moved or deleted!

Jason and I both plan to include ‘tips and wrinkles’ that will be of interest to more experienced hobbyists as well, so we hope that this new initiative is something that all readers will enjoy.

Thanks,

Neil

Neil Wyatt
          @neilwyatt

I've created a separate thread for anyone who wants to suggest/discuss possible beginners articles on other topics and moved some comments there.

Neil

SillyOldDuffer
            @sillyoldduffer