Jones and Shipman 540 tight spindle

Advert

Jones and Shipman 540 tight spindle

Home Forums Workshop Tools and Tooling Jones and Shipman 540 tight spindle

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Aris V
    Participant
      @arisv

Hi Everyone,

Quiet newbie here.. I’m hoping to get some help with my JS540 surface grinder. I’m a complete novice with these, having purchased an old (1970s?) and abandoned model which has been left in a corner of a motorcyle workshop for many years.I think it has a plain bearing spindle with an oil tank, and it came without any tools/accessories/manuals etc (but it WAS a bargain!)

After filling it with oil, I had a successful test run – and was pleased to see it cut some metal and the results looked passable. So technically I could say it works.

However, I’ve noticed the machine had a bit of trouble starting – the spindle seems to be very tight when at rest, and the motor barely manages to turn the wheel when under power (once it gets going its OK). I suspect it’s not suposed to be this tight, but have no idea what might be causing this. After a few minutes of running i did not detect any excessive heating, and nothing obvious caught my eye in terms of rubbing, friction or corosion. The fact that the cut was successful also suggests that the bearings are fine, and there’s no noticable play, crunchyness or anything similar…

One thought came to mind whether the spindle bearings could have been over-tightened, so I proceeded to disassemble the spindle, looking for ways to adjust bearing pre-load. I’ve gotten down to the picture below, and realised my spindle does not look at all like the ones in the standard manuals.  What you see sits just behind the taper, with a seal cover removed.

Screenshot 2024-10-22 195124

So It is at this point I decided to stop and drop a line here in the hopes of some guidance… Does anyone have a similar machine and some relevant experience?