Help Sourcing Colchester Student / Harrison M300

Advert

Help Sourcing Colchester Student / Harrison M300

Home Forums Introduce Yourself – New members start here! Help Sourcing Colchester Student / Harrison M300

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    messy457
    Participant
      @messy457

Hello everyone,

Thanks in advance for all the assistance!

I’m a complete novice in the lathe space and would like to take it up as a hobby. I was originally planning to get a Chinese lathe but was highly advised not to by my mentor. He said a Colchester Student or Harrison M300 1960s-1980s would be the best fit.

I’m after something in full working condition that doesn’t require any immediate attention. Ideally someone that’s stopping that wants to cheaply get rid of said lathe and all related accessories.

If it’s England way that would be preferable but if I need to travel I’ll manage.

It needs to be sub £1k.

I’ve found a few for that price but normally all sold before I even get a look in, hopefully I’ll catch one before it’s  put up for sale.

Thanks Again

J

Advert
      Michael Gilligan
      Participant
        @michaelgilligan61133

Whilst not wishing to dampen your enthusiasm … I have just carefully read your conflicting constraints !

A glib response is : You may find one alongside the rocking-horse manure.

MichaelG.

Edit: __ for a reality-check, I suggest you have a look at this site:

https://www.colchesterspares.com/

JasonB
          @jasonb

I think you will struggle at that price to find a machine and accessories that does not need attention be that damage or wear. Unless you can find a Widow or family that don’t know what a recently departed’s machine is worth.

messy457
          Participant
            @messy457
            Michael Gilligan
            Participant
              @michaelgilligan61133

Just one example, to make my point:

https://www.colchesterspares.com/tailstocks

MichaelG.

JasonB
                @jasonb