Hello – new member here

Advert

Hello – new member here

Home Forums Introduce Yourself – New members start here! Hello – new member here

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    John Moore 16
    Participant
      @johnmoore16

Hi everyone, new member here. By training I am a mechanical engineer, currently working in the automotive industry (product development, mostly CAE chassis engineering) and approaching retirement. I have always enjoyed working with tools, although have no formal training in any trade or workshop skill. I build electric guitars (slowly…) and do some silversmithing, mostly jewellery. I have a workshop that is currently set up for basic silversmithing (have recently got into sand casting), but I intend to bring benches and equipment from my father’s workshop where he spent many years in the restoration of a vintage (1933) MG sportscar, a project that he never finished before he passed away. These tools include a woodworking bench and tools, a large drill press, bench grinder and another heavy bench with an old, probably 1930’s benchtop lathe that looks a bit like an early Myford although I can’t find any maker’s name on it. It would have been bought in Australia, so some kind of Myford (or similar) knock-off, maybe? I will post some photos of the lathe in case anyone knows what it is. There are also many boxes of lathe accessories and tools, some of which I know dad made himself.

Anyway – I basically just want to get the lathe running, because it’s a beautiful thing, and I would like a few fundamental machining skills that might help me finish off the restoration of the MG. I also have vague ideas for guitar pickups and effects.

John

Melbourne, Australia

Advert
      noel shelley
      Participant
        @noelshelley55608

Welcome John, we are by and large a happy bunch here, so I’m sure some one will be able to help with the lathe ID. As for sand casting I may be able to help if you have questions ? Best wishes Noel.