Hello from Devon

Advert

Hello from Devon

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    lucerne
    Participant
      @lucerne

Hi all,

Machining newbie here but spent the last 10 years or so restoring a listed cottage from base structure upwards, removing all traces of cement and damproofing as far as practicable and learning a few new skills along the way.

I now find myself with an emptying workshop and hopefully some more time on my hands, always fancied a metal lathe to play with, and by chance picked one up locally which was sat in the back of a marine engine refurbers. Its been stored reasonably dry, quite a lot of surface rusting and caked on workshop grime but it all spins, the slideways are clean and head and tail stock don’t appear to have any play that I can discern of, certainly not enough to concern me for what I’ll be using it for. The bits all seem to be there other than the motor so I’m thinking of adapting to inverter/motor drive. Its a nice old piece of kit, an early Smallpeice Cromwell on its original base, but next to nothing web wise to refer to. I’m hoping to refurb this nice piece to a useable condition and hoping there’ll be help on here to achieve that.

This is what it looks like now:

IMG_1163 copy

This is what it should look like:

01 copy

Advert
      Bazyle
      Participant
        @bazyle

It will be interesting to see your progress if you keep us up to date. Lots of Model Engineering clubs in Devon who can help, and Men’s sheds. EDMES meet this Friday if you are near Exeter.

V8Eng
        Participant
          @v8eng

Hi Lucerne.

Welcome to the forum lots of good advice available so enjoy.

If you have not already looked at their site I reckon you might find some info on Smallpiece Cromwell machines at Lathes.co.uk

Link here:  https://www.lathes.co.uk/cromwell/index.html

lucerne
          Participant
            @lucerne