Fusion 360 Whitworth Threads

Advert

Fusion 360 Whitworth Threads

Home Forums CAD – Technical drawing & design Fusion 360 Whitworth Threads

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Mike Donnerstag
    Participant
      @mikedonnerstag

I'm just learning Fusion 360 and noticed there were no British threads as standard. I found that custom threads could be added if you downloaded or created the relevant XML file. I added ME and BA threads in this way. However, I couldn't find any file for BSW and BSF threads. Does anyone have XML files for these?

Many thanks,

Mike

Advert
      Mike Donnerstag
      Participant
        @mikedonnerstag
        Paul Lousick
        Participant
          @paullousick59116

Hi Mike,

The actual thread profile is not normaly added to a part as it increase the file size and takes longer for the computer to calculate and display. I use Solidworks, not Fusion 360 and have rarely modelled a screw thread.

eg. A bolt with a thread profile would display quickly but if a large assembly has 100 of these bolts, it would slow the display time unless you have a very fast computer. (Some of my assemblies contain hundreds of individual parts and the computer would crash if the bolts had un-necessary features)

If I want to display a bolt thread on a drawing, I add a surface texture to the part which looks like the thread. (similar to adding wood grain, colour, etc).

Paul.

Martin King 2
          Participant
            @martinking2

Hi All,

Fusion360 offers the option of just showing a thread form in a drawing/model or actually modelling it in the file. It is a simple check box in the thread dialog box.

Cheers, Martin

JasonB
              @jasonb

I've got Whit for Alibre, will have a look later to see what the file type is as it was a while ago that I added all the options.

Alibre will also just put the call out on the drawing and show it as double lines so you know it's threaded and not just a hole.

JasonB