Emco F1 CNC mill

Advert

Emco F1 CNC mill

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Nick Welburn
    Participant
      @nickwelburn

One has landed in my garage… big pile of spare steppers and boards.
      If anyone is interested in the work of a total novice entering tbe CNC arena I’ll post up here.

So far we are on a stand an unplugged. More news next week as we get underway. F892D55F-8E43-4B94-ADD6-1CDC2F3986F8

Advert
      Emgee
      Participant
        @emgee

Hi Nick

It may be best to switch the position of the mill and control panel around, it will ensure the stepper plugs reach the controller sockets without strain and don’t forget to connect the earth conductor to the controller earth terminal.

Also if the chip door is opened now the control will be less accessable as it will be behind the guard.
        I have been running the same mill for many years now and can assure you they can turn out some good parts.
        I use MFI for editing and writing programs to send to the machine from a computer by RS232 connection.

There is a dedicated Emco F1 cnc milling group at iO groups with lots of info and help if needed.
        https://emcof1cncmill.groups.io/g/main

Emgee

Nick Welburn
        Participant
          @nickwelburn

Cheers Emgee!

Good shout on the cables. It’s not clear to me how much I need the control panel as I have a PC with it running Debian and I guess Linux cnc.

I think i need to sort shelving for the PC and control panel.

The mill table is pretty crusty, I’m thinking about WD40 and wire wool to clean back to start with?

The table also seems to have a bunch of limit / centre switches fitted but no connections. They feel like they could be useful… do you know if they’d be factory?

John Haine
          Participant
            @johnhaine32865

Welcome to CNC milling!  It’s a slippery slope…