Books

Advert

Books

Home Forums Books Books

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Tom Gullan
    Participant
      @tomgullan59234

Hello,

I'm an absolute novice at Model Engineering but would like to learn more. I started off with a Sieg C3 Mini Lathe and a small DIY pillar drill. I have now upgraded to a Myford Super 7 lathe and a Warco WM 16 Milling Machine. It has been suggested to me that I get a copy of The Model Engineer – Volume 1. Apparently this book has some basic but interesting plans. Can anyone help me find a copy of this book. I've tried eBay, Amazon and WH Smith with no success. Alternatively, can anyone suggest an alternative book.

Advert
      Tom Gullan
      Participant
        @tomgullan59234

The Best of Model Engineer – Volume 1

Neil Wyatt
          @neilwyatt

Welcome to the forum Tom,

Take a look here, for a start. You should find something of interest.

The route to take is features (on the black bar above)> Magazine reprints

Also try the myhobbystore advert to the right of this panel.

Neil

clivel
          Participant
            @clivel

If your interests run to model building, then as a novice I think that you would be far better off following Stewart Hart's "Lads and Dads Mill Engine" than anything found in the "Best of Vol 1".

The Lads and Dads build series was published in Model Engineer starting with issue 4460 (July 2013) and completed recently. Back issues may still be available from MyHobbyStore or alternatively you could take out a digital subscription which I believe includes a back issue archive. To whet your appetite, here is the Lads and Dads Mill Engine forum thread.