Boiler ?’s

Advert

Boiler ?’s

Home Forums Beginners questions Boiler ?’s

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    jeverist
    Participant
      @jeverist
      1. Complete beginner here. Bought this boiler off eBay hoping to make it work and learn a bit about making steam before I take the plunge into model steam engine building. IMG_0819
      Advert
      jeverist
      Participant
        @jeverist

Sorry, tried to imbed a photo and ended up posting. Advertised as a Stuart/MACC. All the threads are 1/4 x 32 except the bronze fitting top right which is 5/16 x 26. Crazy threading on these beasts. Planning on replacing the fittings. I think the empty “ports” are 1) “superheated” steam outlet, upper left 2) safety valve, upper right 3) blow off valve, lower right (can’t see in pic). The valve to the right of the pressure gauge is the wet steam outlet, and the valve at the lower left is the check valve for water inlet. I plan on replacing all the valves and the pressure gauge. Will pressure test boiler before putting any fire in the box. Am I on the right track, and does anyone recognize this boiler. TIA for any help
        IMG_0820

Harry Wilkes
        Participant
          @harrywilkes58467

Sorry cant help with ID of boiler however the threads 1/4 x 32 and 5/16 x 26 could have been used by Stuart over the years Stuart used both ME threads and some Witworth.

Looks a nice boiler hope it works OK for you

H

bernard towers
          Participant
            @bernardtowers37738

Take all the fittings off and fit blanks on all but two and do a had test to at least 1.5 times WP and if thats successful try 1.75 times and if ok I would say you’re good to go.

jeverist
            Participant
              @jeverist

Thanks, Harry

jeverist
              Participant
                @jeverist