30 Year old MOTORUN 3 Phase Static converter

Advert

30 Year old MOTORUN 3 Phase Static converter

Home Forums Introduce Yourself – New members start here! 30 Year old MOTORUN 3 Phase Static converter

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    mr fixit
    Participant
      @mr-fixit

Hello,

I am just an amateur and I have a go at repairing anything and never throw anyting away. I have a small Mn80a lathe that I bought in 1996, with a 0.55KW / 0.74HP 3 Pase Motor.
      I purchased a MOTORUN Static Phase Converter to run it which has worked perfectly until recently, I tried to contact the firm without succesess. The problem is that the Motor would not start and the Contactor was switching on and off quite fast banging the side of metal case.
      I think the fault is with one or more of the 30 Year old Capacitors, There are five, two are for Starting in High or Low mode. In Low Mode only one the 20µF C5 is in circuit. in High Start Mode an additional 31.5µF Capacitor c4 is switched in parallel to C5.
      There are 3 Run Capacitors I have labelled C1 10µF, C2 6µF and C3 6µF. there are two HP output settings LOW (1/8HP – 1/2HP) and HIGH (1HP – 2HP). in LOW setting C2 and another are in parallel in the HIGH setting all three capacitors are in parallel. Unfortunately I made an error tracing out the circuit. and now I am not totally certain which pair of two capacitors are in circuit for the Lower HP it is either C1 & C2 OR C3 & C2. of course it does not matter for the High HP setting as all three are connected in circuit in parallel.
      I have purchased a new set of all Five Replacement Capacitors.
      Does anyone have one of these, and if so I would be very grateful for some help to resolve my problem. I have attrached pictures, although I am not sure what all the Transformer secondary windings are for, but as I have not moved any of them I don’t think there will be a problem there.MVC-006FSchematic diagram 7 Switch Labels 003

Advert